Board and Staff


Karen Burghart, Executive Director


Karen Burghart has been the Executive Director of the Colorado Springs World Affairs Council since 2015. Prior to her tenure as Executive Director, she served five years on the Colorado Springs World World Affairs Council Board of Directors and was elected as the Council’s first female President. Ms. Burghart’s prior professional experience includes more than a decade in land development and real estate, working for a subsidiary of The Blackstone Group.  She has also successfully held positions as a development executive raising funds on a regional level for nationally known nonprofit organizations.  Ms. Burghart has served on the Board of several organizations and was an Athena® Leadership Award nominee in Colorado Springs in 2015. She is a member of the Association of Fundraising Professionals, a graduate of Palm Beach Atlantic University with a B.S. in Management of Human Resources, and a graduate of the Leadership Pikes Peak Signature Program Class of 2012.

Jamie Bequette, International Visitor Program Manager


Jamie Bequette joined Colorado Springs World Affairs Council in 2019 after returning to Colorado from Fiji where she served as a United State Peace Corps Volunteer for 26-months. After the unique experience living in the South Pacific, she longed to keep a close connection to diverse cultures. Bequette uses her 10+ years of experience programming public events as the Council’s International Visitor Program Manager where she connects international dignitaries to the Pikes Peak Region. Bequette is a Missouri native. Her degree in Parks, Recreation and Tourism led her to Colorado Springs’ natural beauty. 

Christin Tillotson, Membership and Program Coordinator


Christin Tillotson has recently joined our team as the Membership and Program Coordinator. She holds a bachelor’s degree from Purdue University where she majored in Political Science, with an emphasis on International Relations. She has worked in several areas across the political spectrum, ranging from campaigns and public relations, to consulting and public affairs.

Christin gained an appreciation for global affairs while living and working in Malawi, Africa for several months. Christin lives with her husband, Sean, and their two-month-old baby boy, Levi, in Falcon. 

Board of Directors

Karl Schneider, President
Terry Johnson, Executive Vice President
Renita Wolf, Treasurer
Julia Costin, Secretary
Ian Glassford, Immediate Past President

Jim Allen

Keith Benson

Keith Bryant

Donya Davis

Alan Gregory

Salah Dine Hammoud

Maureen Juran

Edin Mujkic

Megan Sanders

Emeritus Directors:

Schuyler Foerster

Interested in serving on the Board of Directors?  Download the Board-Member-Application and the Board Member BOD Roles and Responsibilities document, and return to


Become a Member
member icon
Top Stories

Read the newest International Visitor Program Newsletter

Mar 31, 2021 · Virtual IVLP projects continue and one of our very own IVLP resources was honored in India on International Women's Day! Read about it here.Read More

New Position: Membership and Program Coordinator

Dec 22, 2020 · We're Hiring!Do you want to join our mission for education and engagement on world affairs? We are bringing a Part- Time Membership and Program Coordinator on board! Find ... Read More

Fall 2020 International Visitor Program Newsletter Released

Sep 30, 2020 · Read our newest e-newsletter to see how Colorado Springs World Affairs Council is staying connected with the world during a pandemic.Read More

Upcoming Events
Colorado Springs World Affairs Council